April 29, 2008

Designated Terrorists', al-Shabab, Website Back Online in USA

kataaib.net.JPG

We reported on Friday that al-al-Shabab's websites were offline. It appeared that maybe they had not paid their bill. But as of yesterday the site was back up. Which means its possible their host, Dotster, just violated the law by accepting a payment from a specially designated terrorist entity. Their mirror almujaahid.com is still dead.

The website is located here.

http://kataaib.net/

DNS and Hosting provided by Dotster of Vancouver Washington.

abuse@dotster.com
1-360-449-5985

From U.S. State Department:

On February 29, 2008, Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice designated al-Shabaab (aka al-Shabab, aka Shabaab, aka the Youth, aka Mujahidin al-Shabaab Movement, aka Mujahideen Youth Movement, aka Mujahidin Youth Movement, aka MYM, aka Harakat Shabab al-Mujahidin, aka Hizbul Shabaab, aka Hisb’ul Shabaab, aka al-Shabaab al-Islamiya, aka Youth Wing, aka al Shabaab al-Islaam, aka al-Shabaab al-Jihaad, aka the Unity of Islamic Youth) as a Foreign Terrorist Organization under Section 219 of the Immigration and Nationality Act (as amended) and as a Specially Designated Global Terrorist under Section 1(b) of Executive Order 13224 (as amended).

The consequences of these designations include a prohibition against the provision of material support or resources to al-Shabaab and blocking of all property and interests in property of the organization that are in the United States, or come within the United States, or the control of U.S. persons. Secretary Rice took this action in consultation with the Attorney General and the Secretary of the Treasury. Designations play a critical role in our fight against terrorism and are an effective means of curtailing support for terrorist activities and pressuring groups to renounce terrorism.

Al-Shabaab is a violent and brutal extremist group with a number of individuals affiliated with al-Qaida. Many of its senior leaders are believed to have trained and fought with al-Qaida in Afghanistan.

Another Update by Rusty: The website is linked on a number of jihadi websites and cited as the al-Shabab's official website.

Plus, how do you explain this contact e-mail?

almujaahid.shabab@hotmail.com

Translation: Of/from the fighters of shabab

On that same link, make sure to look at the group's banner. Specifically the upper left hand corner. Recognize that face?

Last, the website flies the official flag of al-Shabaab. Compare its logo to this one from the NEFA foundation. Or from this al-Shabaab video at YouTube.

Since I don't speak Somalian, I used to think the website belonged to al-Shabaab's sister organization, the Islamic Courts Union, but I was wrong. It's Shabaab.

Not the official website? Right.

Previous:
al Qaeda's Somalian affiliate, al-Shabab, Websites Dead
U.S. Designates Somalian Terror Group While U.S. Host's Official Website
Islamic Terrorists Behead 3 Somalian Soldiers & Have U.S. Based Website
Six Somali Terror Suspects Arrested in Scandinavian Internet Cafe Raid
GIMF: The AMERICAN Leader of al Qaeda in Somalia (& its U.S. Website)!!
African Taliban Desecrate Ethiopian Soldiers' Bodies
Florida, Michigan Companies Hosting African Taliban Website


By Howie at April 29, 2008 09:06 AM | | l digg this